Others

After the Wallflower bloomed


As you might have already guessed, this is a post about the book-turned-movie, The Perks of Being a Wallflower. So, I saw the movie yesterday and was needless to say, mesmerized.

So, of course I had to ask a few people about it and to my greatest surprise, the ones who watched it seemed unimpressed and the ones who didn’t, dismissed it as a ‘love story’ and a ‘teenage drama’.

Not to sound condescending (but I probably will), maybe the ones who did watch it expected a lot more from a movie that started out with a teenage boy writing a letter. Maybe they expected a full blown romance and did not quite like how the film progressed as not to be one.

Yes, TPoBaW is a teenage drama and it is indeed a story about love, but it is so much more as well. It is the story of a teenage boy growing up, not older, about adults being insecure about being adults, about peer pressure, drugs, abuse and so much more. It is one of those rare coming-of-age story which kind of helped me grow a little bit while I watched it.

Mind you, it didn’t make me cry, although, I did have a couple of teardrops glistening in my eyes which refused to shed. I didn’t know who to cry for.

Should I have cried for Charlie? Or his aunt?

Or ought I have sniffled for his sister? Or maybe, Sam?

Should I have wailed for Patrick? Or should I have wept at the end, when I did not know what to do except stare at the screen as the credits rolled on, not believing how I kept postponing this movie?

The movie made me think a lot. About unrequited love, abuse, teenagers, high school, good music, home, but above all, it made me think how we must miss so many beautiful wallflowers everyday. Right?

Charlie taught me one thing : You always deserve more than you think.

Here’s to Charlie.

And Stephen Chbosky.

Thank you.

Do you want to add something?

