Fiction

The bright and the brighter fall in love with the dark.


The world seemed blurry as I woke up from my deep slumber. I groped around for something to hold on, for someone to reassure me that all was well; only to be disappointed. I croaked out a greeting, yet no one responded. I squinted out at the bright yet unnaturally blurred scenery outside.

I saw trees, many of them, all swaying in unison, almost as if greeting my presence, alien yet welcome. As I raised my hand in response, the most beautiful music started playing somewhere, not too far and not too near either. The tone startled me; it seemed familiar yet I couldn’t remember how. Suddenly, I spot my glasses, not even a foot away from where I was standing, glinting in the sunlight, almost winking at me, perhaps mocking my sense of dependence upon it.

As I picked it up and put it on, the brightness dimmed, the music died away and I was left alone, vision intact, yet in dark.

8 thoughts on “The bright and the brighter fall in love with the dark.

Do you want to add something?

